Today’s Typical Small Business Owner

According to a study done by Experian, small businesses make up 99.7% of all U.S. businesses. Small business is described as employing fewer than 500. Who are these small business owners? Today’s small business owner is between 48-51 years old and is likely to have a college degree. They also tend to participate in physical activities, as well as being active travelers. Women start 1,600 businesses a day, according to Intuit Future of Small Business Report.

Intuit’s report states one of the main reasons that women become small business owners is to get around the “glass ceiling.” Mothers with small children find it more feasible to work from home; therefore, becoming mompreneurs. The percentage of women business owners is growing almost twice the rate of all businesses.

I find these statistics to be quite interesting because they reflect me. I am a 53 year old, educated, woman who exercises on a regular basis. When I received my marketing degree, my plan was to work in the marketing department of a corporation. It never occurred to me to become an entrepreneur. Needless to say, my plans to work for a corporation didn’t quite pan out. Graduating from college at 44 years old presented obstacles. After numerous applications and several disappointing interviews, I decided that if they won’t hire me, I will hire myself. So, I combined my experience and education; therefore, coming up with the concept of providing virtual assistant services. And the rest is history.

Based on the aforementioned information and statistics, I guess I am what is known as “today’s typical small business owner.”

Rita J. Cartwright, Owner
RJ’ Word Processing Services
http://www.rjswordprocessing.com

Leave a Reply

